Tuscany

Tuscany has a long and rich history of wine-growing. The Etruscans took the cultivation of vines to unprecedented levels of perfection that was warmly appreciated by the Romans and, later on, the nobility in Florence, for which quality was the absolute criterion. Tuscany is the home of Chianti, the quality Italian wine that is produced in the greatest quantities. But Tuscany has much more to offer than the famous red, which is produced in the valleys that stretch between Florence, Siena, Arezzo and Pisa.

While Chianti has made Tuscany's vineyards famous all over the world, the region is also known for its Brunello di Montalcino or the Vino Nobile di Montepulciano, not to mention other legendary wines, like the famous Sassicaia or Tignanello, which figure amongst the very best wines produced in Italy.

The variety of types of wines reflects the diversity of the land, which stretches from the Apennine mountains in the North, to the hills in the centre, the volcanic formations in the South and, finally, the coastal plains in Livorno and Grosseto. With the rolling hills that cover more than two thirds of the region and its Mediterranean climate, Tuscany has offered the ideal conditions for wine-growing for thousands of years. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Capital: Florence


Provinces: Arezzo, Florence, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa-Carrara, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato, Siena


Total surface area of vineyards: 62,000 ha


Annual output: 2,772,000 hl


Red/rosé: 2,338,000 hl


White: 434,000 hl


Proportion of total vineyards in Italy: 6.2%

Tuscany
Back

Toscane

La Toscane possède une riche histoire de la viticulture. Portée par les Etrusques à un tel degré de perfection, la culture de la vigne inspira les Romains puis les familles de la noblesse florentine qui firent de la qualité le critère absolu. Mère patrie du vin italien de qualité le plus produit, le Chianti, la Toscane a pourtant bien davantage à proposer que le célèbre rouge issu de la région vallonnée qui s’étend entre Florence et Sienne, Arezzo et Pise.

En effet, si le vignoble toscan s’est fait connaître dans le monde entier grâce au Chianti, la région est également mondialement connue pour le Brunello di Montalcino ou le vino nobile di Montepulciano, sans oublier certains vins de légende comme le fameux Sassicaia ou le Tignanello qui comptent parmi les meilleurs vins d’Italie.

La variété des types de vins reflète la diversité des terroirs. Les monts de l’Apennin dominent le nord et l’est, puis ce sont les collines au centre, des formations volcaniques au sud et enfin les littoraux des province de Livourne et Grosseto. Avec ses collines ondulantes qui recouvrent plus des deux tiers de la région et son climat méditerranéen, le Toscane offre des conditions idéales à la viticulture depuis des milliers d’années. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Chef-lieu : Firenze


Provinces : Arezzo, Firenze, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa-Carrara, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato, Siena


Surface du vignoble : 62’000 ha


Production annuelle : 2’772’000 hl


Part de vin rouge/rosé : 2’338’000 hl


Part de vin banc : 434’000 hl


Part de la surface du vignoble italien : 6,2%

Toscane
Retour