Priorat / Montsant

In recent years, Montsant, and Priorat in particular, have developed spectacularly, and their reds now figure amongst the most expensive and sought-after wines in Spain. The rediscovery of the Priorat wine-growing region has helped to revive interest the land and local produce in Spain.

This revival is all down to one wine-grower: René Barbier is responsible for the renaissance of the Priorat by establishing a worldwide reputation that has allowed the region, located in the untouched hills overlooking Tarragona, not far from Spain's north-east coast, to become one of the most prestigious wine-growing districts in Spain.

With his Espectacle and, above all, the legendary Clos Mogador, which achieved the rare feat of being awarded 98/100 by Robert Parker, René Barbier has proven the undeniable quality of this isolated region, which is surrounded by a chain of steep-sided mountains that demand intense manual labour, for a yield that hardly ever exceeds 2,000 kilos per hectare. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Designation: Priorat


Total surface area of vineyards: 22,000 ha


Annual output: 120,000 hl


Wines: Priorat, Monstant


Established in: 2006 / 2001


Main grape varieties: Garnacha / Macabeo, Parellada, Xarel-lo

Priorat / Montsant
Back

Priorat / Montsant

Ces dernières années, le Montsant et tout particulièrement le Priorat ont connu une fulgurante ascension, et leurs vins rouges comptent désormais parmi les plus chers et les plus recherchés d’Espagne. La redécouverte de la région viticole du Priorat a contribué à ranimer l’intérêt des Espagnols pour leur terroir.

Ce regain est le fait d’un vigneron, René Barbier, qui a lui seul a fait renaître le Priorat en lui conférant une reconnaissance mondiale et qui a permis à cette région située sur les collines sauvages au-dessus de Tarragona, non loin de la côte nord-est de l’Espagne, de devenir l’un des vignobles les plus prestigieux d’Espagne.

Avec son Espectacle et surtout le légendaire Clos Mogador qui a réussit l’exploit d’obtenir la note rarement atteinte de 98/100 Robert Parker, René Barbier a su démontrer l’indéniable qualité de cette région isolée et entourée d’une chaîne de montagne aux flancs escarpés qui nécessite un travail manuel acharné pour un rendement ne dépassant rarement les 2'000 kilos par hectares. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Désignation : Priorat


Surface du vignoble : 22’000 ha


Production annuelle : 120’000 hl


Appellation : Priorat, Monstant


Reconnue depuis : 2006 / 2001


Cépages dominants : Garnacha / Maccabeu, parellada, xarello

Priorat / Montsant
retour