Veneto

Along with Sicily and Puglia, Veneto is one of Italy's biggest wine-producing regions. The region supplies almost one fifth of all the quality wines made in Italy, including some of the country's most famous names.

There are three districts in Veneto that produce quality wines. The province of Verona in the west, located in the hills between Lake Garda and Soave, produces some of Italy's most popular wines, such as the Amarone de la Valpolicella. The other two wine-producing districts are located in the central hills of Vicenza, Padua and Treviso provinces, and on the eastern plains in the Piave basin, where the famous Prosecco de Valdobbiadene is made.

The reputation of the wines from Veneto is founded on the particular climatic conditions that reign in the region. The vines planted on hillsides face south and are protected from the cold northerly winds by the Alps, a fact that allows the grapes to mature perfectly. The various types of soils include the morainic deposits near Lake Garda, the rock produced by the erosion of the Dolomites in the alpine foothills and the fertile soils and alluvial gravel in the plains.

The Verona region, home of the famous Amarone, one of the country's finest red wines, is considered to be the wine centre of Italy. Every year, Verona hosts Italy's most famous fair of Italian wines, Vinitaly. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Capital: Venice


Provinces: Belluno, Padova, Rovigo, Treviso, Venice, Verona, Vicenza


Total surface area of vineyards: 70,500 ha


Annual output: 8,020,000 hl


Red/rosé: 2,902,000 hl


White: 5,118,000 hl


Proportion of total vineyards in Italy: 17,9%

Veneto
Back

Vénétie

La Vénétie est avec la Sicile et les Pouilles, l’une des régions viticoles les plus productrices d’Italie. La région fournit ainsi près d’un cinquième de l’ensemble des vins de qualité italiens, parmi lesquels figurent quelques-uns des vins les plus célèbres du pays.

La Vénétie dispose de trois aires de production de vin de qualité : la province de Vérone à l’ouest dans les collines entre le lac de Garde et la ville de Soave qui produit quelques-uns des vins les plus appréciés d’Italie, à l’instar de l’Amarone de la Valpolicella; les collines centrales des provinces de Vicenza, Padoue et Trévise, ainsi que les plaines orientales des bassins des rivières Piave où sont produits les fameux prosecco de Valdobbiadene.

La réputation des vins de la région de Venise n’est pas indifférente aux conditions climatiques particulières dont jouit le vignoble. Les vignes des versants sont exposées au sud et sont efficacement protégées par les Alpes des vents froids venus du nord, ce qui favorise une maturation parfaite du raisin. Les différents types de sols consistent en dépôts morainiques près du lac de Garde, en roches dues à l’érosion des Dolomites dans les Préalpes, ainsi qu’en terres fertiles et en graviers alluviaux dans les plaines.

La région de Vérone, où s’épanouit le célèbre Amarone, l’un des plus grands rouges du pays, est par ailleurs considérée comme le centre du vin de l’Italie. C’est dans la ville qu’à lieu chaque année la plus célèbre des foires dédiées aux vin du pays, Vinitaly. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Chef-lieu : Venezia


Provinces : Belluno, Padova, Rovigo, Treviso, Venezia, Verona, Vicenza


Surface du vignoble : 70’500 ha


Production annuelle : 8’020’000 hl


Part de vin rouge/rosé : 2’902’000 hl


Part de vin banc : 5'118’000 hl


Part de la surface du vignoble italien : 17,9%

Vénétie
Retour