Sicily

Sicily is the biggest island in the Mediterranean and is one of Italy's leading wine-growing regions, in terms of both quality and quantity. This island of contrasts shares top spot for the number of hectares of vineyards and the volume of its grape harvest with Puglia. But it has also realised its potential to produce wines of the very highest quality.

Even in ancient times, the Greek settlers held Sicily in awe for the fruits of its agriculture and its vines. They gradually introduced their wine-growing techniques and started producing wines that were quickly exported to mainland Italy. This is hardly surprising, when you consider the excellent conditions that reign on the island: the sun, heat and low rainfall make for perfect maturing. The poor soil produces an expressive wine, while the vineyards at altitudes of up to 900 metres on the mountainsides produce perfumed wines that are particularly elegant.

A number of indigenous grape varieties have survived to this day, but they have also been joined by international varieties. Thanks to the efforts made to offer a quality product, Sicilian wines have become both modern and elegant, and are set to enjoy a bright future. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Capital: Palermo


Provinces: Agrigente, Caltanissetta, Catania, Enna, Messina, Palermo, Ragusa, Syracuse, Trapani


Total surface area of vineyards: 128,000 ha


Annual output: 6,170,000 hl


Red/rosé: 2,346,000 hl


White: 3,824,000 hl


Proportion of total vineyards in Italy: 13.8%

Sicily
Back

Sicile

La plus grande île de la Méditerranée, la Sicile est au niveau quantitatif, mais également au niveau qualitatif, une des régions viticoles les plus importantes d’Italie. Terre de contrastes, la Sicile partage avec les Pouilles la première place par la superficie de son vignoble et les quantités vendangées, cependant elle a su mieux que quiconque tirer parti de son potentiel pour produire des vins de grande qualité.

Depuis l’Antiquité déjà, les colons grecs tenaient la Sicile en haute considération pour les fruits de son agriculture et de sa vigne. Peu à peu, ils amenèrent leurs techniques viticoles et développèrent des vins qui s’exportèrent rapidement vers l’Italie péninsulaire. Pas étonnant, au vu des excellentes conditions naturelles dont l’île jouit : soleil, chaleur et faibles précipitations garantissent une maturation parfaite. Les sols maigres donnent de l’expression aux vins, tandis que les parcelles cultivées jusqu’à 900 mètres sur les versants des montagnes produisent des vins aux arômes forts et d’une élégance particulière.

Aujourd’hui encore, de nombreux cépages indigènes subsistent. A ceux-ci se sont ajoutés des cépages internationaux et grâce notamment à une volonté axée sur une production de qualité, les vins de Sicile ont acquis modernité, élégance et promettent un avenir radieux. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Chef-lieu : Palermo


Provinces : Agrigente Caltanissetta, Catania, Enna, Messina, Palermo, Ragusa, Syrakus, Trapani


Surface du vignoble : 128’000 ha


Production annuelle : 6’170’000 hl


Part de vin rouge/rosé : 2’346’000 hl


Part de vin banc : 3’824’000 hl


Part de la surface du vignoble italien : 13,8%

Sicile
Retour