Priorat / Montsant

In recent years, Montsant, and Priorat in particular, have developed spectacularly, and their reds now figure amongst the most expensive and sought-after wines in Spain. The rediscovery of the Priorat wine-growing region has helped to revive interest the land and local produce in Spain.

This revival is all down to one wine-grower: René Barbier is responsible for the renaissance of the Priorat by establishing a worldwide reputation that has allowed the region, located in the untouched hills overlooking Tarragona, not far from Spain's north-east coast, to become one of the most prestigious wine-growing districts in Spain.

With his Espectacle and, above all, the legendary Clos Mogador, which achieved the rare feat of being awarded 98/100 by Robert Parker, René Barbier has proven the undeniable quality of this isolated region, which is surrounded by a chain of steep-sided mountains that demand intense manual labour, for a yield that hardly ever exceeds 2,000 kilos per hectare. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Designation: Priorat


Total surface area of vineyards: 22,000 ha


Annual output: 120,000 hl


Wines: Priorat, Monstant


Established in: 2006 / 2001


Main grape varieties: Garnacha / Macabeo, Parellada, Xarel-lo

Priorat / Montsant
Back

Priorat/Montsant

In den letzten Jahren haben der Montsant und ganz besonders der Priorat einen kometenhaften Aufstieg erlebt und die Rotweine zählen seither zu den teuersten und begehrtesten Weinen Spaniens. Die Wiederentdeckung der Weinregion Priorat hat dazu beigetragen, das Interesse der Spanier an ihrem Land neu zu beleben.

Diese Neubelebung ist eine Tat des Winzers René Barbier, der das Priorat im Alleingang wiederauferstehen ließ und ihm weltweite Anerkennung verschafft hat und es möglich gemacht hat, dass diese Region in den wilden Hügeln über Tarragona, nicht weit entfernt von der Nordkostküste Spaniens, eines der renommiertesten Weinbaugebiete Spaniens geworden ist.

Mit seinem Espectacle und vor allem dem legendären Clos Mogador, dem die Heldentat gelungen ist, die selten erreichte Note 98/100 von Robert Parker zu bekommen, konnte René Barbier die unbestreitbare Qualität dieser abgelegenen und von einer Bergkette mit steilen Hängen umgebenen Region zeigen, die harte körperliche Arbeit verlangt, um einen selten überschrittenen Ertrag von 2.000 Kilo pro Hektar zu erreichen. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Bezeichnung: Priorat


Weinanbaufläche: 22.000 ha


Jahresproduktion: 120.000 hl


Bezeichnung: Priorat, Monstant


Anerkannt seit: 2006 / 2001


Wichtigste Rebsorten: Garnacha / Maccabeu, Parellada, Xarello

Priorat/Montsant
Zurück