Rioja

There can be no doubt that Rioja is the most famous wine-growing region in Spain. The region has been producing quality red wines since the second half of the 19th century. Apart from a few rare wineries, all the quality wines were produced in Rioja until the 1980s. But faced with the fresh competition from Ribera del Duero or Priorat, the long-established bodegas have been forced to surpass themselves and now offer a new generation of wines to rival the legendary Clos Mogador, Vega Sicilia or Pingus, to mention only the most famous names.

The wine-growing district on the upper Ebro brings together several natural factors that are conducive to the production of extraordinary wines. Thanks to the nearby Bay of Biscay, the climate benefits from the influence of the Atlantic, while on the eastern side, the region is swept by currents of warm air from the Mediterranean. This delicately balanced climate, characterised by moderate temperatures, sufficient rainfall and a few frosts, creates the conditions required to make elegantly distinctive wines.

With its three production districts (Rioja Alta, Rioja Alavesa and Rioja Baja), which each have their own specific characteristics, the Rioja region produces a broad variety of fine reds that are both flavoursome and well balanced, like the Ibericos by Miguel Torres. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Designation: Rioja


Total surface area of vineyards: 60,000 ha


Annual output: 2,800,000 hl


Wines: Rioja (DOC)


Established in: 1991


Main grape varieties: Tempranillo, Viura, Garnacha, Graciano, Mazuelo

Rioja
Back

Rioja

La Rioja est sans aucun doute la région la plus célèbre d’Espagne. Dès la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle, on y a produit des vins rouges de grande qualité. A l’exception de quelques rares maisons, jusque dans les années 1980, tous les vins de qualité étaient produits à la Rioja. Désormais soumis à une concurrence notamment des régions du Ribera del Duero ou du Priorat, les bodegas d’implantation ancienne ont dû se surpasser et offrent aujourd’hui une nouvelle génération de vins pouvant rivaliser avec les légendaires Clos Mogador, Vega Sicilia ou encore Pingus pour ne citer que les plus célèbres.

L’aire viticole située en amont de l’Ebre réunit plusieurs conditions naturelles qui favorisent l’élaboration de vins extraordinaires. Grâce à la proximité de golfe de Gascogne (Biskaya), son climat bénéficie d’influences atlantiques, mais il est, à lest, également marqué par des courants d’air chaud venus de la Méditerranée. Ce fragile équilibre météorologique, caractérisé par des températures modérées, des précipitations suffisantes et quelques gelées crée les conditions nécessaires pour obtenir des vins au caractère élégant.

Avec ses trois régions de production (Rioja Alta, Rioja Alavesa et Rioja Baja) aux caractéristiques propres, la région du Rioja offre une variété de vins rouges différents, mais qui offrent des vins fins, aromatiques et équilibrés, à l’instar de l’Ibericos de Miguel Torres. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Désignation: Rioja


Surface du vignoble : 60’000 ha


Production annuelle : 2’'800’000 hl


Appellation : Rioja (DOC)


Reconnue depuis : 1991


Cépages dominants : Tempranillo, Viura, Garnacha, Graciano, Mazuelo

Rioja
retour