Veneto

Along with Sicily and Puglia, Veneto is one of Italy's biggest wine-producing regions. The region supplies almost one fifth of all the quality wines made in Italy, including some of the country's most famous names.

There are three districts in Veneto that produce quality wines. The province of Verona in the west, located in the hills between Lake Garda and Soave, produces some of Italy's most popular wines, such as the Amarone de la Valpolicella. The other two wine-producing districts are located in the central hills of Vicenza, Padua and Treviso provinces, and on the eastern plains in the Piave basin, where the famous Prosecco de Valdobbiadene is made.

The reputation of the wines from Veneto is founded on the particular climatic conditions that reign in the region. The vines planted on hillsides face south and are protected from the cold northerly winds by the Alps, a fact that allows the grapes to mature perfectly. The various types of soils include the morainic deposits near Lake Garda, the rock produced by the erosion of the Dolomites in the alpine foothills and the fertile soils and alluvial gravel in the plains.

The Verona region, home of the famous Amarone, one of the country's finest red wines, is considered to be the wine centre of Italy. Every year, Verona hosts Italy's most famous fair of Italian wines, Vinitaly. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Capital: Venice


Provinces: Belluno, Padova, Rovigo, Treviso, Venice, Verona, Vicenza


Total surface area of vineyards: 70,500 ha


Annual output: 8,020,000 hl


Red/rosé: 2,902,000 hl


White: 5,118,000 hl


Proportion of total vineyards in Italy: 17,9%

Veneto
Back

Venetien

Venetien ist zusammen mit Sizilien und Apulien eines der ertragreichsten Weinbaugebiete Italiens. Die Region liefert nahezu ein Fünftel aller italienischen Qualitätsweine und dazu gehören auch einige der berühmtesten Weine des Landes.

Venetien besitzt drei Gebiete für die Herstellung von Qualitätsweinen: Die Provinz Verona im Westen in den Hügeln zwischen dem Gardasee und der Stadt Soave, die einige der am meisten geschätzten Weine Italiens wie zum Beispiel den Amarone de la Valpolicella hervorbringt; die Hügel in der Mitte der Provinzen Vicenza, Padua und Treviso sowie die Ebenen im Osten der Flusstäler, wo der berühmte Prosecco de Valdobbiadene hergestellt wird.

Der Ruf der Weine aus der Region um Venedig hängt von den besonderen klimatischen Bedingungen ab, die der Weinbau dort vorfindet. Die Weinberge sind Südhänge und werden von den Alpen gut vor den kalten Winden aus dem Norden geschützt, so dass die Trauben perfekt reifen können. Die unterschiedlichen Bodenarten bestehen aus Moränenablagerungen in der Nähe des Gardasees, in den Voralpen aus Felsgestein aufgrund der Erosion der Dolomiten und aus fruchtbarer Erde und angeschwemmten Kies in den Ebenen. 

Die Region Verona, in der der berühmte Amarone, einer der größten Rotweine des Landes, gedeiht, wird als Mittelpunkt des Weines in Italien angesehen. In dieser Stadt findet jedes Jahr die bekannteste Weinmesse des Landes statt, die Vinitaly. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Provinzhauptstadt: Venedig


Provinzen: Belluno, Padova, Rovigo, Treviso, Venedig, Verona, Vicenza


Weinanbaufläche: 70.500 ha


Jahresproduktion: 8.020.000 hl


Anteil Rotwein/Rosé: 2.902.000 hl


Anteil Weißwein: 5.118.000 hl


Anteil der italienischen Weinanbaufläche: 17,9%

Venetien
Zurück