Located in the Aragona valley, 10 kilometers from the town of Jumilla in southeastern Spain, the Bodega el Nido of the famous Juan Gil Bodegas Familiares group was founded in 2002 with the challenge of making it one of the main spearheads of the qualitative revolution in Jumilla.

The vineyard of the Bodega El Nido is located between 700 and 850 metres above sea level on a sandy and limestone base covered with stones. With 32 hectares of Monastrell, some of which are centuries old, this is the majority grape, followed by Cabernet Sauvignon (12 hectares) and Syrah (1.8 hectares).

The work of the collaboration between the Gil family and Chris Ringland, one of Australia's best oenologists, quickly convinced the public as well as national and international critics. Based on a philosophy that combines very old vines with ultra-modern vinification techniques, Bodega El Nido favours low yields producing concentrated and fruity terroir wines, but always balanced and fresh. Clio, created from a blend of Monastrell (70%) and Cabernet Sauvignon, is a perfect example of strength, concentration and finesse.

See the selection of wines
Scroll

Située dans la vallée d’Aragona à 10 kilomètres de la ville de Jumilla dans le sud-est de l’Espagne, la Bodega el Nido du fameux groupe Juan Gil Bodegas Familiares a vu le jour en 2002 avec le pari d’en faire un des fer de lance de la révolution qualitative à Jumilla.

Le vignoble de la Bodega El Nido se situe entre 700 et 850 mètres d’altitude sur un sous-sol de sable et de calcaire recouvert de pierres. Avec 32 hectares de Monastrell (cépage endémique ancêtre du Mourvèdre provençal) dont certaines vignes sont centenaires, c’est le cépage majoritaire, suivi du Cabernet Sauvignon (12 hectares) et de la Syrah (1,8 hectares).

Le travail issu de la collaboration entre la famille Gil et Chris Ringland, un des meilleurs œnologues d’Australie, a rapidement convaincu le public comme les critiques nationaux et internationaux. Basée sur une philosophie qui allie de très vieilles vignes à des techniques de vinification ultra modernes, la Bodega El Nido privilégie de faibles rendements produisant des vins de terroir concentrés et fruités, mais toujours sur l’équilibre et la fraîcheur. Clio qui naît d’un assemblage de Monastrell (70%) et de Cabernet Sauvignon en est un parfait exemple, entre puissance, concentration et finesse.

Voir la séléction des vins
Scroll