Bordered by the Alps in the north and the Apennines in the south, Piedmont is named after the mountainous massifs that surround the region. Piedmont literally means "at the foot of the mountains". Despite the fact that it ranks only as Italy's seventh-largest wine-producing region, Piedmont plays a leading role on a number of scores.

With its host of small vineyards and more than 100,000 wine producers, Piedmont boasts the highest number of DOC wines (denominazione di origine controllata – registered designation of origin) in the country.

Since each district has a unique microclimate and its own specific soil, the Piedmont wines are distinctly different from one another, offering a broad selection of exceptional products, including some all-time greats, such as Barolo, Barbaresco and Gattinara. (


Do you know the producers from Piedmont and specially Cascina del MonasteroGaja, Pio CesareTravaglini and Berta?

Capital: Torino

Provinces: Torino, Asti, Biella, Alessandria, Novara, Cuneo, Vercelli, Verbania

Total surface area of vineyards: 53,200 ha

Annual output: 2'658'000 hl

Proportion of total vineyards in Italy: 6.6%

Source: ISTAT, Federdoc

Discover the main wine regions of Italy, like SicilyPugliaTuscany, Marche and Veneto.

All wines from this region