Friuli

Friuli

Located in northeastern Italy and bordering Austria and Slovenia, Friuli is the region of Italy which enjoys one of the best reputations of the country for its white wines, whether they come from the many local grape varieties such as Friulano (formerly Tocai) or international grape varieties.

If the wine history of this region on the Adriatic is dating back to Roman times, it is really only since the 1970s that the region is experiencing the extraordinary enthusiasm throughout the world that characterises it today.

Among the 9 DOC (Denominazione di Origine Controllata) in Friuli, the region has two exceptional appellations side by side along the Slovenian border; the Colli Goriziano and the Colli Orientali del Friuli. Favored by an exchange of air between the Alps and the Adriatic Sea, the climatic conditions are extremely favourable and the vines cultivated in terraces called "ronchi" give rise to some of the best wines of the region (alfavin.ch).

Chef-lieu : Trieste


Provinces : Porderone, Udine, Gorizia, Trieste


Surface du vignoble : 20’000 ha


Production annuelle : 752’000 hl


Part de vin rouge/rosé : 309’000 hl


Part de vin blanc : 443’000 hl


Part de la surface du vignoble italien : 1,7%

Friuli
Back

Frioul

Frioul

Située au nord-est de l’Italie et partageant ses frontières avec l’Autriche et la Slovénie, le Frioul est la région d’Italie qui jouit d'une des meilleures réputations du pays pour ses vins blancs, qu’ils proviennent des nombreux cépages locaux comme le Friulano (anciennement Tocai) ou de cépages internationaux.

Si l’histoire viticole de cette région aux confins de l’Adriatique remonte à l’époque romaine, ce n’est réellement que depuis les années 1970 que la région connaît l’extraordinaire engouement à travers le monde qui la caractérise aujourd’hui.

Parmi les 9 DOC (Denominazione di Origine Controllata) que possède le Frioul, la région compte deux appellations exceptionnelles côte à côte le long de la frontière slovène ; le Colli Goriziano et le Colli Orientali del Friuli. Favorisées par un échange d’air entre les Alpes et la mer Adriatique, les conditions pédoclimatiques y sont extrêmement favorables et les vignes cultivées en terrasses appellées « ronchi » donnent naissance à quelques uns des meilleurs vins de la région (alfavin.ch).

Chef-lieu : Trieste


Provinces : Porderone, Udine, Gorizia, Trieste


Surface du vignoble : 20’000 ha


Production annuelle : 752’000 hl


Part de vin rouge/rosé : 309’000 hl


Part de vin blanc : 443’000 hl


Part de la surface du vignoble italien : 1,7%

Frioul
Retour