Ribera del Duero

This wine-growing district, which stretches along both banks of the Douro for more than 110 kilometres, crosses four provinces. The rise of Ribera del Duero, a name that is synonymous with quality all over the world, is almost unique.

Grown on brown and ruddy-brown chalky soil, the vines offer very low yields that are limited by the severe and dry climate, which also contributes to the quality achieved by certain vineyards that have become famous the world over.

The Ribera del Duero name is reserved for the excellent red wines that are aged in casks and contain at least three quarters of Tinta del Pais, the local name for Tempranillo. Along the same lines as the elites formed by Vega Sicilia and Pingus, the Ribera del Duero reds are dark in colour, fantastically fruity and tannic and age remarkably well. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Designation: Castile and Léon


Total surface area of vineyards: 19,000 ha


Annual output: 59,550,000 bottles


Wines: Ribera del Duero


Established in: 1982


Main grape varieties: Tempranillo, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Malbec, Grenache

Ribera del Duero
Back

Ribera del Duero

Cette aire viticole, qui s’étend sur plus de 110 kilomètres sur les deux rives du Douro, traverse quatre provinces. L’ascension de la Ribera del Duero, dont le nom est synonyme de qualité dans le monde entier, est quasi unique.

Cultivées sur des sols calcaires bruns et rouges bruns, les vignes ont un rendement très faible limité par le climat rigoureux et sec qui contribue à la qualité observées sur certaines aires ayant atteint un renom international.

L’appellation Ribera del Duero est avant tout attribuée à d’excellents vins rouges élevés en fûts et composés au moins aux trois quart de tinta del pais (nom donné dans la région au tempranillo). A l’instar des élites formées par Vega Sicilia et Pingus, les vins rouges de la Ribera del Duero ont la robe sombre, sont merveilleusement fruités et tanniques et vieillissent remarquablement bien. (Alfavin.ch)

 

Désignation: Vignoble de Castille et Léon


Surface du vignoble : 19’000 ha


Production annuelle : 59'550’000 bouteilles


Appellation : Ribera del Duero


Reconnue depuis : 1982


Cépages dominants : Tempranillo, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Malbec, Grenache

Ribera del Duero
retour