Claudio Quarta has founded this very small winery in order to give expression to Negroamaro in one of its most prestigious denominations, Salice Salentino. Located at Guagnano, in the heart of this Doc, Moros uses mostly Negroamaro grapes and also Malvasia Nera, grown in a small vineyard of just 1,3 hectares on the edge of the town.

The winery name evokes the history of this area and its encounters with Saracen culture, and also recalls the dark colour of Negroamaro and Malvasia Nera.  And there is also the god Moros, brother of Eméra, the guardian of the thread of destiny.

The winery was founded to produce only Salice Salentino, and has been created by renovating an old winery; the huge cement fermentation vats have now been replaced with small steel tanks. The underground tanks where the wine was once stored have surprisingly found a new life hosting the barrels in which the Salice ages.

See the selection of wines
Scroll

Claudio Quarta a fondé ce petit établissement vinicole dans le but de valoriser au mieux le Negroamaro dans une des plus prestigieuses dénominations, Salice Salentino. Située à Guagnano, au coeur de cette DOC, Moros cultive principalement les cépages Negroamaro et Malvoisie Noire, dans un petit vignoble de tout juste 1,3 hectares.

Si le nom de cette maison emblématique des Pouilles évoque l’histoire de la région et ses rencontres avec la culture des Sarrasins, elle rappelle également la couleur sombre du Negroamaro et de la Malvoisie Noire. En outre, dans la mythologie grecque, Moros est le frère d’Emera, le dieu du destin.

Avec pour but de produire uniquement du Salice Salentino, les installations de Moros ont été construites en rénovant une ancienne cave existante. Les vielles cuves en ciment ont été remplacées par des plus petites en inox et les sous-sols, base des anciennes cuves, ont trouvé une nouvelle vie en abritant dorénavant les barriques dans lesquelles vieillit le Salice Salentino.

Voir la séléction des vins
Scroll